Provider handbook

Overview of the CPD Program

    1. Overview of the CPD Program

Last revised: 01 Dec 2023

Overview of the CPD Program

Continuing professional development

Participating regularly in CPD is a requirement of the MBA and applies to all registered GPs including those taking a leave of absence from clinical practice. For more information visit Medical Board Registration Standards.

GPs requiring practice accreditation and GPs seeking visiting medical officer credentials with local hospitals, particularly in rural areas, are also required to participate in regular CPD.

Some GPs have specific requirements with other colleges or third-party organisations for topics such as women’s health, general practice anaesthesia, general practice surgery, diagnostic radiology, mental health and medical acupuncture. These GPs are required to undertake mandatory or recommended CPD specific to that topic to maintain their relevant skills. This is part of, not in addition to, the overall CPD requirements applicable to all registered medical practitioners who are engaged in any form of medical practice under MBA or Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) standards.

The RACGP CPD Program and the MBA mandated changes

The RACGP CPD Program is integral to the profession of general practice, supporting the clinical and professional development of GPs that leads to improved patient outcomes and high-quality primary healthcare in Australia. The RACGP works closely with providers to develop an environment of high-quality activities and acknowledges the important service provided to GPs through this collaborative relationship.

MBA mandated changes

The MBA is changing what CPD looks like for doctors of every specialty, including GPs. The changes are extensive and stem from the objective to strengthen CPD under the MBA’s Professional Performance Framework (PPF). For more information visit the Medical Board Professional Performance Framework. The most significant MBA-mandated change to impact CPD Providers is the requirement for GPs to do different types of CPD activities, including a mix of:

  • educational activities (knowledge and skills)
  • measuring outcomes
  • reviewing performance.

Refer to Figure 1 and Table 1.

Figure 1. Minimum requirements by CPD activity type and hours

Table 1. Minimum requirements by CPD activity type and hours
CPD activity type Hours (minimum)
Educational activities (knowledge and skills) 12.5
Reviewing performance 5
Measuring outcomes 5
Reviewing performance and/or measuring outcomes 15
Any activity type 12.5

To accommodate these changes, the RACGP will deliver its new CPD Program from 1 January 2023. The 2023–25 triennium commences 1 January 2023 and concludes 31 December 2025.