My Health Record resources

What is My Health Record?

My Health Record is Australia’s national eHealth record system. Launched in 2012 as the Personally Controlled Electronic Health Record (PCEHR), My Health Record is an online repository for documents and data that contains information about an individual’s health and healthcare. It can be accessed online by healthcare consumers and their healthcare providers.

An individual’s My Health Record may contain various types of content from the consumer, their healthcare providers, and Medicare. Consumers have the option to restrict access to some or all of the documents in their My Health Record by different healthcare organisations, such as particular general practices (but not individual healthcare providers, such as general practitioners [GPs]). Healthcare providers who are caring for a consumer in an emergency can access that person’s My Health Record without obtaining consent.

In the 2017–18 Budget, the Australian Government announced that every person known to Medicare or the Department of Veterans’ Affairs (DVA) who has not already registered for a My Health Record will automatically have a record created for them unless they choose to opt-out. The opt-out period was then extended to 31 January 2019. Individuals can cancel their My Health Record at any time.

Resources for GPs

The RACGP has developed a number of resources to assist general practice in their use of My Health Record.

One requirement of participation in the Practice Incentives Program eHealth Incentive (ePIP) is the upload of Shared Health Summaries to My Health Record. The RACGP has developed a series of resources to support general practices participating in the ePIP.


External resources

Relevant legal instrument

Australian Digital Health Agency (ADHA) resources

In addition, the Australian Digital Health Agency has recently upgraded its self-paced e-learning course for general practice.

The course supports those working in General Practice to become familiar with the My Health Record system.

The course contains five modules:

  • An Introduction to My Health Record
  • My Health Record Clinical Documents and Patient-Entered Information
  • Viewing and Uploading to My Health Record
  • My Health Record Privacy, Security and Consent
  • Supporting Patients' Use of My Health Record

Each module is accredited for two Category 2 Quality Improvement and Continuing Professional Development (QI&CPD) points.

Access the course

Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) resources

Primary Health Network (PHN) resources

Individual PHNs have My Health Record resources and can provide further support to help general practice staff use the system.