Your browser has 'Cookies' disabled, alert boxes will continue to appear without this feature.

Education Committees

RACGP Rural Education Committee

Rural Education Committee

RACGP Rural Education Committee

The Rural Education Committee is a sub-committee of the RACGP Rural Board and provides direction to RACGP Rural on education, general practice vocational training and the Fellowship in Advanced Rural General Practice (FARGP).

Functions and Responsibilities

  • Enhance excellence in general practice training and education through providing input into:
    • standards
    • curriculums
    • assessments
    • quality assurance
    • ongoing professional development
  • Provide advice to the RACGP Rural Board and RACGP management on the FARGP and rural education initiatives.
  • Identify enablers and barriers for increasing enrolment in the FARGP.
  • Consult and liaise with stakeholders to seek their feedback on the FARGP and other rural education initiatives.
  • Provide advice to the RACGP on initiatives related to Joint Consultative Committees (JCC).
  • Support the RACGP Rural team to assist candidates to complete the requirements of the FARGP.
  • Consider any other matters pertinent to rural general practice education as required, or as delegated by the RACGP Rural Board.

Committee members

  • Dr Ross Wilson - Chair, Rural Education Committee
  • Dr Ken Wanguhu - Rural Censor
  • Associate Professor Ayman Shenouda - Chair, RACGP Rural Board
  • Dr John Buckley
  • Dr Adam Brownhill
  • Dr Karin Jodlowski-Tan
  • Dr Tim Mooney
  • Dr Riitta Partanen
  • Dr Alison Turnock

Also in attendance

  • Dr Janice Bell – Chair, RACGP Expert Committee – Post Fellowship Education
  • Dr Kaye Atkinson – Chair, RACGP Expert Committee – Pre Fellowship Education
  • Mark Rowe – General Manager, RACGP Education Services
  • Lauren Cordwell – Manager, RACGP Rural

More information

The Rural Education Committee meets face-to-face once a year and by teleconference three times a year. Rural Education Committee terms are for three years, with a maximum of two consecutive three year terms allowed.

Vacant Positions

There are currently no vacant positions on the Rural Education Committee.

For further details please contact REC Chair via or contact 1800 636 764