Anaesthesia Diploma


RACGP Rural is working with the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM) in developing a Diploma of Rural General Practice Anaesthesia (DRGPA).

Please note that the name of the qualification is still to be determined.

The DRGPA would facilitate:

  • consistency of anaesthetic training
  • access to established educational resources to supplement the clinical based training program
  • standardised examination process
  • linking ongoing CPD to the currency of the qualification.

RACGP Representation

A Consultative Working Group (CWG) formed with members of all three Colleges is tasked with the development of the DRGPA.

The RACGP has its own Anaesthetic Working Group with representatives from around Australia, all rural GP Anaesthetists committed to the interests of our members and their patients.

RACGP Anaesthetic Working Group

Dr Peter Gilchrist

Chair, RACGP Anaesthetic Working Group

ANZCA Diploma RGPA Curriculum Authoring Group

Dr Michael Clements

Chair, RACGP Rural Council

Dr Ken Wanguhu

RACGP Rural Council Representative

Dr Cecile Blanchot 

Victoria Representative

Dr Daryl Pudney

NSW Representative

Dr Stephen Trebble

NSW Representative

Dr James Ware

Queensland Representative

Dr Janssen Ang

South Australia Representative

Dr Letitia Clark

Victoria Representative

Dr Airell Hodgkinson

Western Australia Representative

Dr Alex Harris

Western Australia Representative

Dr Andrew Pols

South Australia Representative

Ongoing management

The ongoing governance of the DRGPA will be decided by all three Colleges (RACGP, ANZCA and ACRRM) and RACGP Rural will strongly advocate for the best outcomes for our members.

Updates on the progress of the Anaesthesia Diploma will be added to this page.

If you should have any questions or comments about the DRGPA or for our representatives on the CWG please email