Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Council

About this council

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Council promotes the interests of the faculty to Council and other organisations.

Council Members


Associate Professor Peter O'Mara


Dr Angela Forrest

Co-Deputy Chair & Tasmania Representative

Associate Professor Brad Murphy

Honorary Faculty Provost

Dr Hung The Nguyen

Faculty Censor

Dr Deep Joseph

 Victoria Representative

Dr Olivia O’Donoghue

Northern Territory Representative

Dr Catherine Brooker

Western Australia Representative

Dr Kali Hayward

South Australia Representative

Dr Anita Watts

New South Wales & Australian Capital Territory Representative

Dr Danielle Arabena

Queenland Representative

Professor Jenny Reath

Co-opted Member

Dr Dawn Casey

NACCHO Representative


AIDA Representative

Dr Simone Raye

Chair, Indigenous General Practice Registrar Network

Mr Alan Brown

Community Representative


Community Representative

Miss Kayla Ramires

Student Representative


Seeking expressions of interests - Torres Strait Islander GP Fellows

The RACGP Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Council is seeking expressions of interest from a Torres Strait Islander Fellow to join the Faculty Council for a two-year term.

The Council meet four times a year, with two face-to-face meetings and two teleconferences.

If you are interested in the position, please complete the co-option form and email to aboriginalhealth@racgp.org.au


For further information, please contact the Faculty on:

1800 000 251


Relevant document

Co-option form for Council (PDF 473 KB)