Standards for General Practices

About this committee

The RACGP Standards for general practices (the Standards) are a template for quality care and risk management in contemporary Australian general practices. Achieving independent accreditation against the Standards shows patients that a practice is serious about providing high quality, safe and effective care to standards of excellence determined by the general practice profession.

The RACGP Expert Committee – Standards for General Practices is established to:

  • develop and maintain standards and associated resources for general practices, including GP education practices, medical deputising services and other primary medical services,
  • ensure the standards reflect quality practice and are independent of government policies and initiatives,
  • monitor the development and application of relevant standards in Australia and overseas and oversee the RACGP’s role in the development and monitoring of standards in related areas,
  • establish a mechanism for standards interpretation with organisations that accredit against the RACGP Standards, and
  • ensure adequate communication about standards for general practices within the RACGP, its members, the medical profession and the Australian community.

Strategic directions

The RACGP has seven main strategic objectives. These are leadership of the profession, clinical principles for the profession, general practice lifelong learning, building modern practice through technology, member engagement and academic leadership.

The work of Committee members is in accordance with the following values:

  • The Standards are developed by the general practice profession for the general practice profession
  • The Standards are designed to be a template for safe, high quality healthcare
  • The Standards reflect accountable, patient centred care for individuals, families and communities
  • The Standards include all members of the general practice team
  • The Standards foster quality improvement initiatives

Current members of the REC-SGP (as of Oct 2018)

REC – Standards for General Practices




Dr Louise Acland


Dr Kenneth McCroary

Deputy Chair

Dr Patrick Ajulo

GP Member

Assoc Prof Carl de Wet

GP Member

Dr Trina Gregory

GP Member

Dr Abhishek Verma

GP Member

Dr Tim Senior

GP Member

Dr Robert Menz

GP Member

Ms Diane Walsh

Consumer Representative

Ms Angela Mason-Lynch

Australian Association of Practice Management Representative

Ms Jane Bollen

Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association Representative


RACGP Expert Committee – Standards for General Practices

The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

100 Wellington Parade, East Melbourne, VIC 3002

 (03) 8699 0596