Rural GP in Training of the Year award

About the Rural GP in Training of the Year award

The Rural GP in Training of the Year award recognises an exceptional registrar who demonstrates a commitment to improve the health and wellbeing of communities in rural or remote Australia.

A nominee must be a general practice registrar who is currently enrolled in the Fellowship in Advanced Rural General Practice (FARGP) through a Training Organisation (RTO/RVTS).

Each nomination is judged on the following criteria:

  • demonstrated commitment to rural general practice
  • demonstrated commitment to learning and developing as a rural GP
  • evidence of service to rural patients
  • evidence of commitment and service to the rural practice in which they work
  • evidence of service to the rural community in which they practice or have practised.

The Rural GP in Training of the Year award includes:

  • registration to attend the College's annual conference
  • presentation of a commemorative trophy at the RACGP Rural annual member event.

Nomination process

Nominees for the Rural GP in Training of the Year Award must have two nominators (one nominator and one seconder), one of whom must be a Training Organisation staff member (RTO/RVTS). The other nominator can be a general practice supervisor, a medical educator or an RACGP member.

Nominations for the 2022 Rural GP in Training of the Year Award will open later in the year and we’ll post the details here. Contact for more information.

2021 award winner

The 2021 Rural GP in Training of the Year award was presented to Dr Mubashar Sherazi.

Dr Mubashar Sherazi
Dr Mubashar Sherazi

Dr Mubashar Sherazi was the first doctor recruited to Mallacoota, Victoria, under a targeted recruitment strategy, in which communities with a high need for medical workforce receive recruitment support.

Dr Sherazi completed his general practice training exams in early 2020, just weeks after being evacuated from the 2019 summer bushfires in Mallacoota.

In addition to having a strong commitment to a career in rural general practice and serving his community, Dr Sherazi has an interest in medical education.

Past award recipients

2021 Dr Mubashar Sherazi
2020 Dr Emma Thompson

2019 Dr Jerry Abraham Alex

2018 Dr Kate Fox

2017 Dr Cassie Rickard

2016 Dr Fintan Andrews

2015 Dr Hannah Visser

2014 Dr Sam Gubicak

2013 Dr David Chessor

2012 Dr Angus McDonnell

2011 Dr Medhi Sanati Pour

2010 Dr Aileen Traves and Dr Nicola Patching

2009 Dr Sarah-Jane McEwan

2008 Dr Ingeborg Shea

2007 Dr Clare Willix

2006 Dr Jennifer Allen

2005 Dr Vicki Westoby


If you have any queries please contact RACGP Rural staff on

1800 636 764

Related documents

 RACGP Rural Awards Terms of Reference (PDF 201 KB)