Pathway eligibility

Explore our pathways and the 10-year moratorium

Pathway eligibility

Explore our pathways and the 10-year moratorium

Last updated 3 January 2024

There are two pathways on the AGPT Program – general and rural pathway.

The training for both pathways is the same, the difference is where you can train.

General pathway

Rural pathway

On the general pathway, you can undertake your training in metropolitan areas and are required to undertake at least 12 months of your training time in:
  • an outer metropolitan location or
  • a rural location or
  • a non-capital city location or
  • in an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health training post.
 It’s also possible to do two six-month periods in these locations.
If you’re offered a general pathway composite position, you’ll be required to spend 6 to 12 months in a rural area as part of your training as specified for that region.
See our AGPT Program Guide for more information.
On the rural pathway, you'll train in rural areas designated as Modified Monash Model (MMM) 2–7, which range from larger regional towns to more remote areas of Australia.
You can find more information on MMM areas using the Health Workforce Locator tool.
Generally, doctors training in rural areas are expected to live in the rural community where they work.

Doctors affected by the 10-year moratorium (Section 19AB of the Act) can only apply for the rural pathway.

You can check your eligibility in the AGPT Application and Eligibility Guide.

The 10-year moratorium, also known as Section 19AB of the Health Insurance Act 1973 (Cwlth), restricts access to Medicare benefits and requires these doctors to work in a distribution priority area (for general practitioners [GPs]) or a district of workforce shortage (for specialists) for at least 10 years in order to access Medicare rebates.

The 10-year moratorium applies to doctors who either obtained their primary medical qualification overseas (International Medical Graduates [IMG]) or obtained their primary medical in Australia or New Zealand and were not a permanent resident or Australian or New Zealand citizen at the time they enrolled in their degree (foreign graduates of an accredited medical school [FGAMS]).

Note: The 10 year moratorium does not apply to doctors who obtained their primary medical qualification in New Zealand and were a New Zealand or Australian permanent resident at the time of enrolment.

Section 19AB applies for a minimum of 10 years from the date a doctor first gains medical registration in Australia, which includes provisional or limited registration, as listed on the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) Register of Practitioners. The moratorium ends at the 10-year mark, provided the doctor is a permanent resident or citizen of Australia. For temporary residents, the moratorium continues until they become permanent residents or Australian citizens.


The moratorium may be able to be reduced through moratorium scaling.

If you are subject to the 10-year moratorium and you have exceptional circumstances which would prevent you from training on the rural pathway, you can submit a request for a rural pathway exemption.   

Applications for rural pathway exemptions must be made by the close of AGPT applications for the intake in which you are applying. Applications received after this date will not be considered for that intake. 

Please see the rural exemption webpage for more information.

Find out more

Learn more about the AGPT Program and how to get started.

Request a program guide    attend an info session    Contact Us  

Training support

GP career and application support

P: 1800 472 247