Joint Consultative Committee on Medical Acupuncture (JCCMA)

The RACGP Governance Committees Joint Consultative Committees Joint Consultative Committee on Medical Acupuncture (JCCMA)

About this committee

The Joint Consultative Committee on Medical Acupuncture (JCCMA) is a tripartite committee with representatives from the Australian Medical Acupuncture College (AMAC), The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM).

Representatives of the three Colleges attend JCCMA meetings. Meetings are held as required.


The current membership of the JCCMA is two Medical Acupuncturists from AMAC, two GP Medical Acupuncturists nominated by the RACGP, and two rural GP Medical Acupuncturists nominated by ACRRM.

Representing AMAC Dr Chin Chan Dr Ian Relf

Representing RACGP Dr Natasha Kustura

Position vacant

Representing ACRRM Dr Paul Coughlan Chair Bill Meyers

Accredited training courses

There is one basic Medical Acupuncture accredited training course accredited by the JCCMA.

The Australian Medical Acupuncture Course Part 1:

is an accredited course run by the Australian Medical Acupuncture College (AMAC). Medical practitioners will qualify to sit the FAMAC Part 1 examination upon successful completion of the course. This course can be undertaken over a one or two year period (approximately 260 hours), consisting of formal lectures, online tutorials and teleconference – 30 hours face to face workshops, 20 hours online teaching; self directed learning, assignments and case studies – 180 hours; Mentorship – minimum 30 hours.

Further information can be found on the AMAC website.

Following completion of the basic training course, the FAMAC Part 1 written and clinical examinations must be successfully completed before a GP can apply for accreditation for Medical Acupuncture.

FAMAC exam

The Australian Medical Acupuncture College (AMAC) was formed in 1973 and has branches in all states. The State branches run both introductory and advanced courses in acupuncture for medical practitioners and the Federal body conducts a Fellowship examination annually. Further information is available on the AMAC website.

Accreditation and ongoing continuing professional development requirements for recognised general practitioners claiming MBS Items 193, 195, 197 and 199 for medical acupuncture.

All Recognised General Practitioners practising Medical Acupuncture and claiming Medicare Item numbers 193, 195, 197 and 199 must be accredited by the Joint Consultative Committee for Medical Acupuncture and participate in on-going Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements to maintain their eligibility with the Health Insurance Commission.

For further information, please see the document below.


RACGP 2014-16 triennium requirements

GPs with a medical acupuncture requirement must complete a minimum of one Category 1 activity in medical acupuncture during the 2014-16 triennium:

  • Clinical audit
  • Rapid ‘plan, do study, act’ (PDSA) cycle
  • Supervised clinical attachment
  • Successful completion of a JCCMA accredited course and Part 1 of the FAMAC examination

Activity calendars/reports

The RACGP QI&CPD Unit provides a calendar of activities approved for the current QI&CPD triennium. This can be accessed via the QI&CPD Activity Calendar.

The requirements for the 2017-19 triennium will be added to this website in early February 2017.

If you have any issues you would like discussed, please forward the details to Ms Garrard.

QI&CPD requirements for the maintenance of accreditation with the JCCMA

QI&CPD National Unit

RACGP, 100 Wellington Parade, East Melbourne VIC 3002

 (03) 8699 0325


Ms Pam Garrard - JCCMA Secretariat

 (03) 8699 0577