Medical Student Bursary award

About the Medical Student Bursary award

The RACGP Rural 'Medical Student Bursary' award is offered to a medical student who is a member of a rural health students' club at an Australian university.

Entrants are encouraged to write an essay (maximum 1200 words) on a specific rural and remote health topic. Rural generalism training: The future of general practice.

The essay is judged on the perceived understanding of rural general practice and evidence of innovative thinking.

The 'Medical Student Bursary' award includes:

  • registration to attend the College's annual conference
  • return economy flight to attend the annual conference for the recipient
  • accommodation (including breakfast) for two nights
  • invitation to attend the RACGP National Faculties Evening
  • recipient will also be acknowledged at the RACGP Rural Annual Member meeting

2019 nominations have closed. Nominations for 2020 will open next year.

2019 winner

The 2019 Medical Student Bursary award winner was Mr Michael Au of Manoora, Queensland on the essay topic ‘Rural generalism training: The future of general practice’. In his essay, Michael demonstrated a deep understanding of the question and provided realistic suggestions with a broad range of answers in a well-written and intelligent paper that incorporated innovative future thinking.

Past award recipients

2019 Michael Au

2018 Jessica Paynter

2017 Wai Yee Yum

2016 Maave Barlow

2015 Maureen Krasnoff

2014 Michelle Seckington

2013 Stephanie Hopkins

2012 Thomas Boosey

2011 Sarah Devereux

2010 Sarah McPherson

2009 Anita Smith

2008 Brittany Turner

2007 Alina Harriss

2006 Nishari Wijewardena

2005 Joseph Turner

2004 Ken Liu


If you have any queries please contact RACGP Rural staff on

1800 636 764