RACGP Specific Interests – election

Call for nominations – RACGP Specific Interests election

About the RACGP Specific Interests Council

The RACGP Specific Interests Council comprises of chairs of each of the specific interest networks. Members of the council play a critical role in achieving the objectives of RACGP Specific Interests and the RACGP.

Current RACGP Specific Interests Council members are available here.
The following RACGP Specific Interests Council elected members are up for re‑election and are invited to renominate.

Dr Hester Wilson, Addiction Medicine

Dr Joanne Simpson, Allergy

Dr Wendy Burton, Antenatal and Postnatal Care

Assoc Prof Joel Rhee, Cancer and Palliative Care

Dr Atef Asham, Cardiology

Dr Gary Deed, Diabetes

Dr Trina Gregory, eHealth

Dr Janie Maxwell, Environmental Impacts in General Practice

Dr Patrick Clancy, Hospital Medicine

Dr Rebecca Stewart, Medical Education

Dr Scott Masters, Musculoskeletal Medicine

Dr Milana Votrubec, Pain Management

Dr Darra Murphy, Psychological Medicine

Dr Kate Walker, Refugee Health Specific Interest Group (RHSIG).

RACGP Specific Interests Council positions available for 2019-21

RACGP Specific Interests welcomes nominations for the position of chair for the following networks for the 2019-21 council positions.

  • Addiction Medicine
  • Allergy
  • Antenatal and Postnatal Care
  • Cancer and Palliative Care
  • Cardiology
  • Diabetes
  • eHealth
  • Environmental Impacts in General Practice
  • Hospital Medicine
  • Medical Education
  • Musculoskeletal Medicine
  • Pain Management
  • Psychological Medicine
  • Refugee Health Specific Interest Group (RHSIG).

There is one position available per network.

Successful candidates will take office at the close of the 2019 RACGP Specific Interests Member Meeting, to be held in October 2019.


If you are interested in nominating to be the chair of your specific interest group, please note the following procedure:

  1. Submit your nomination to be chair by 4.00 pm (AEST), Wednesday 3 July 2019
  2. With your nomination, please include a brief (up to 300 words) overview of your experience in your area of specific interest and why you would like to be the chair of the network.

The position of chair will be appointed by votes cast from the current members of the network and must be:

  1. a current member of the RACGP
  2. a Fellow or Member of the RACGP
  3. a member of the specific interest network
  4. registered with AHPRA as a Specialist General Practitioner.

Forms must be sent to:
Attention: Manager, RACGP Specific Interests
By email: gpsi.elections@racgp.org.au

Nomination Forms must be received by the RACGP prior to 4.00 pm AEST on Wednesday 3 July 2019. Nominations received after this time will not be considered.

Enquiries should be directed to RACGP Specific Interests by email at gpsi.elections@racgp.org.au or phone on 03 8699 0350.