Rose-Hunt Award

About the Rose-Hunt Award

The Rose-Hunt Award is a gift from the Royal College of General Practitioners (UK) to the RACGP and is the highest accolade awarded by the RACGP.

The Royal College of General Practitioners, through its President Dr GI Watson, presented 12 silver medals to the Australian College on 5 October 1972, commemorating two of its founding members, Lord Hunt of Fawley (the first Honorary secretary) and Dr Fraser Rose.

The first Rose-Hunt Award was presented to Dr WA Conolly, a founding father of the RACGP, in October 1974. The Rose-Hunt Award is awarded to an RACGP Fellow or member who, in the opinion of Council, has rendered outstanding service in the promotion of the objects of the RACGP, either by individual patient care, organisation, education, research or any other means. Outstanding service may be over a period of 10 years or a substantial and significant contribution to general practice over a shorter period.

Award winners

2021 Dr Cameron Loy

2021 Dr Penny Burns

2020 A/Prof Brad Murphy

2000 Dr John Comerford and Dr Elizabeth (Beth) Jane

2019 Dr Mark Miller

1999 Dr Elisabeth Banks

2018 Dr Evan Ackermann

1998 Professor Peter Mudge and Professor Chris Silagy

2017 Dr David Knowles

1994 Dr Edgar John Hamilton (John) North

2016 Dr John Litt

1993 Professor Charles Bridges-Webb

2015 Emeritus Professor Max Kamien

1992 Professor Neil E. Carson

2014 Professor Michael Kidd

1991 Dr Wesley (Wes) Earl Fabb

2013 Associate Professor Morton Rawlin

1989 Dr Alan Chancellor

2012 Dr Beres Wenck

1988 Dr Edward C. (Ted) Gawthorn

2011 Dr Janice Bell

1987 Dr Wilson Leighton (Bill) Corlis

2010 Dr Alan (Eric) Fisher

1986 Dr Bernard S. Alderson

2009 Associate Professor Diana (Di) O’Halloran

1985 Dr Peter W.H Grieve

2008 Professor Christopher (Chris) Del Mar and Associate Professor Leanne Rowe

1983 Dr Peter W. Gill

2007 Dr Howard Watts

1981 Dr Hamilton Stuart Patterson

2006 Professor Deborah (Debbie) Saltman

1980 Dr David A. Game

2005 Dr John Golder

1978 Dr Howard Morris (Shad) Saxby

2004 Dr Philip Hegarty

1977 Dr Robert F.F. (Rob) Harbison

2003 Professor John Murtagh

1976 Dr Carl Clifford (Cliff) Jungfer

2002 Dr Neil Spike

1975 Dr Monty O. Kent-Hughes

2001 Dr Mary Mahoney

1974 Dr William Arnold (Bill) Conolly


 Rose-Hunt Award (PDF 676 KB)