Brian Williams award

About the Brian Williams award

The Brian Williams Award is presented by RACGP Rural to commemorate the work of Dr Brian Williams, a rural GP and medical educator.

Dr Williams was a staunch advocate for rural general practice, rural medical education at all levels, and the need for rural GPs to provide support to their peers in order to advance rural general practice.

The aim of this award is to acknowledge medical practitioners whose mentoring and support enables rural GPs to safely dedicate themselves to their patients, their families and their communities.

The award is in the form of a medal, presented at the RACGP’s Annual Awards Ceremony for General Practice by the President of the RACGP and the Chair of RACGP Rural. The prize also includes:

  • registration to attend the College's annual conference
  • presentation of a commemorative trophy at the RACGP Rural annual member event.

Nomination process

The Brian Williams Award is open to all RACGP Fellows.

Nominees must be current financial members of the College and hold unconditional medical registration with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.

Nominations can be made by two RACGP Fellows, or one Fellow and one member of the RACGP. A separate form is to be completed for each nominee. All information on the nomination form will be kept confidential from the nominee.

Nominations for the 2022 Brian Williams Award will open later in the year and we’ll post the details here. Contact for more information. 

2021 winner

The 2021 Brian Williams Award was presented to Dr Richard Mayes.

Dr Richard Mayes
Dr Richard Mayes

Dr Richard Mayes has been recognised for his contribution to medical education across all levels of training and among his peers. This includes teaching registrars and medical students, as well as providing ongoing support to his colleagues and local community in Castlemaine, Victoria.

He is involved with providing weekly lectures to medical students, and in particular teaching students about rural obstetric care. Richard is also a passionate GP Obstetrician and has taught the Advanced Life Support in Obstetrics course for a number of years, improving the skills of both doctors and midwives in the area of Obstetric care.

Past award recipients

2021 Dr Richard Mayes
2020 Dr Lorri Hopkins

2019 Dr Kate Davey

2018 Dr Stewart Jackson

2017 Dr Denise Powell

2016 Dr Patrick Giddings

2015 Dr Kenan Wanguhu

2014 Dr Barbara Jones

2013 No award winner announced

2012 Dr Jenny May

2011 Assoc Prof Bruce Harris

2010 Dr Peter Joseph

2009 Dr Olga Ward


If you have any queries please contact RACGP Rural staff on

1800 636 764

Related documents

 RACGP Rural Awards Terms of Reference (PDF 201 KB)