25 October 2019

New leadership for the RACGP

Former Victoria Police Chief Commissioner and Chair of Monash College Board Christine Nixon has been elected Chair of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) Board.

The new Board, the RACGP’s 62nd, met for the first time today at the GP19 conference in Adelaide to elect the positions.

Associate Professor Ayman Shenouda remains as Vice President, with Martin Walsh serving another term as Chair of the Finance, Audit and Risk Management (FARM) Committee.

Former Board Chair Associate Professor Charlotte Hespe has been elected as the Chair of Nomination and Remuneration Committee.

Dr Cameron Loy was elected Chair of the Governance and Constitutional Review Committee and Dr Tess van Duuren appointed as Acting Censor-in-Chief until a permanent Censor-in-Chief is elected.

Dr Krystyna de Lange will serve as Chair of the brand new National Faculty for GPs in Training, which will ensure that all doctors working towards Fellowship are heard.

RACGP President Dr Harry Nespolon said that the new Board would serve members well.

“RACGP members should be assured that this new Board will do an outstanding job and fight hard for their interests.

“There is continuity with Martin Walsh remaining in his position as Chair of FARM and RACGP members in remote and rural Australia will be glad to see that one of their own, Ayman Shenouda, will remain as Vice President.

“Ayman Shenouda understands better than anyone the pressures that GPs face outside of our major cities and he will be striving just as hard as he always has to ensure their voice is heard.

“But changes have also been made to bring a fresh approach to the Board’s work. Charlotte Hespe will make sure appropriately skilled individuals are appointed to the Board to advance the RACGP’s interests.

“Cameron Loy and Tess van Duuren will no doubt thrive in their new positions and I look forward to working with them.”

The RACGP President said that Christine Nixon would make an excellent RACGP Board Chair.

“Christine Nixon has been on the RACGP Board for more than three years. She is an outstanding leader and the perfect person to take on the role as Chair.

“She knows the RACGP in and out and the challenges facing general practice.

“We are hand in glove when it comes to fighting for the interests of GPs and ensuring Australian patients receive the highest possible standard of healthcare.”

The 62nd RACGP Board:

  • Ms Christine Nixon, Chair of Board
  • Dr Harry Nespolon, President
  • Associate Professor Ayman Shenouda, Vice President, Chair RACGP Rural
  • Associate Professor Charlotte Hespe, Chair RACGP NSW&ACT, Chair of Nomination and Remuneration Committee
  • Dr Tess van Duuren, Acting Censor-in-Chief
  • Dr Cameron Loy, Chair RACGP Victoria, Chair of new Governance and Constitutional Review Committee
  • Dr Zakaria Baig, Chair RACGP SA&NT
  • Dr Krystyna de Lange, Chair of new GPs in Training Faculty
  • Associate Professor Peter O’Mara, Chair RACGP Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health
  • Dr Sean Stevens, Chair RACGP Western Australia
  • Mr Martin Walsh, Chair of Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee; Co-opted Board member
  • Dr Bruce Willett, Chair RACGP Queensland

Media enquiries

Journalists and media outlets seeking comment and information from the RACGP can contact:

John Ronan

Senior Media Advisor