Express your interest for the next intake of the AGPT Program


Express your interest


 

General practice – Become a GP

.

Working in general practice is different to working in a hospital and also different to working in many other specialities. General practice offers person-centred healthcare, based on a foundation of trust between patients and their chosen GP.

The Australian General Practice Training (AGPT) Program is the leading program for doctors wishing to pursue the specialty of general practice. The AGPT Program is suited to recent medical graduates and experienced non-vocationally recognised doctors who prefer educator directed learning. Training towards Fellowship of the RACGP on this program is available in metropolitan, regional, rural and remote regions nationally over a three year (full time equivalent) period. The training is fully funded by the Commonwealth. Training is conducted across 11 training regions with the support of the contracted Regional Training Organisations (RTOs).

The RACGP is recognised as a leader in the provision of general practice education and training, supporting more than 23,000 GPs to achieve Fellowship since 1958. The RACGP is Australia’s largest professional general practice organisation and represents urban and rural general practitioners. We represent more than 40,000 members working in or towards a career in general practice.

Key information – 2022 AGPT Program

 

10am AEDT Monday 22 March

Applications open

11:59pm AEST Tuesday 20 April

Applications close

Tuesday 25 May

Applicants advised of eligibility by this date

Tuesday 15 June – Thursday 17 June

Candidate Assessment and Applied Knowledge Test (CAAKT)

Thursday 8 July

CAAKT results release

Thursday 8 July - Tuesday 13 July

Preference change period

Thursday 15 July

Applicants advised of interview allocations

Friday 16 July – Friday 23 July

RTOs schedule interviews with applicants

Saturday 24 July – Sunday 8 August

RTO interviews

Monday 9 August – Thursday 19 August

Training offers are made

Friday 20 August

Training offers finalised


Information for candidates

 
Daniel

 

Application and selection process

Find out more

 

Maya

 

Application resources

Find out more

My community

 

Regional training organisations

Browse resources

Rural

 

Training in rural and remote areas

Information for candidates

FAQs

 

Frequently asked questions

Answers to your questions