The RACGP website is undergoing scheduled maintenance on Tuesday, 5th December 2023 from 7:00 AM to 9:00 AM AEDT. During this time, the application will be unavailable. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Why Fellowship?

A specialist general practice qualification

The Fellowship of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (FRACGP) is a specialist general practice qualification accredited by the Australian Medical Council.

The RACGP offers two fellowships and provides a range of educational activities and resources to support candidates on their pathway to Fellowship.

The first Fellowship is the FRACGP.

GPs who live and work in rural and remote Australia may apply for a second RACGP Fellowship.

While general practice is a recognised medical specialty, not all medical practitioners working as GPs in Australia hold a specialist general practice qualification. The attainment of the FRACGP signifies that a GP has been assessed as competent across the core skills of general practice enabling him or her to practice safely, unsupervised, anywhere in Australia.

In short, the FRACGP denotes safe, specialised, high-quality general practice care.

The core skills of general practice are defined in two key RACGP Education documents:

There are multiple pathways to achieving the FRACGP. The requirements of each pathway are detailed in the Fellowship Pathways Policy Framework.

The Fellowship pathways are underpinned by the RACGP Standards for General Practice Training. The standards describe the expected outcomes of a quality and safe training program, and are the benchmark which all training providers are monitored and accredited against.

The standards cover:

  • supervision and the practice environment
  • education and training/teaching
  • assessment.

Related documents

 Fellowship Oath (JPG 34 KB)

Related pages

 Pathway to Fellowship