FSP Accreditation Handbook for Training Sites and Supervisors

About the Fellowship Support Program

Last revised: 04 Aug 2023

About the Fellowship Support Program

The Fellowship Support Program (FSP) is a self-funded education and training program for doctors as an alternative to the Australian General Practice Training Program.

Two specialist medical colleges are recognised and accredited by the Australian Medical Council Limited (AMC) - the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM). The AMC is the body responsible for developing and maintaining the standards of training for general practice in Australia.

The FSP trains GP registrars based on an apprenticeship model, with the registrar working as a GP in an accredited training site under supervision.

The FSP is an education and training program. This means that in addition to self-directed learning, in-practice learning and optional workshops, registrars will be undertaking workplace-based assessments (WBAs) for feedback and progress monitoring, in accredited training practices under supervision.

The program has two components:

  1. Education and training component
    • 24 months (i.e. four six-month general practice terms: GPT1, 2, 3 and 4).
    • registrars who decide to complete the RG Fellowship training will have at least an additional year to complete that component of the program
    • registrars may be granted recognition of prior learning and experience (RPLE) if they have two years full-time equivalent (FTE) comprehensive Australian general practice experience and six months satisfactory progress in the FSP. If RPLE is granted, the registrar will complete three terms only (18 months in total).
  2. Post-education component
    • usually six exam semesters (36 months) - known as the candidacy period - during which a registrar can attempt Fellowship exams
    • an additional six months for awarding of Fellowship (pending successful exam attempts).

Registrars who are awarded Fellowship are deemed to be competent to deliver safe, specialised and high-quality general practice care anywhere in Australia.