Practice Experience Program Specialist (PEP SP) Participant Handbook - Partially Comparable Stream

Fellowship exams


Fellowship exams


Figure 5:
Part E - Candidacy

Once you have finished your training program, you are ready to sit the Fellowship exams. The period during which you attempt the Fellowship exams is your candidacy (Part E).

The RACGP Fellowship exams assess your competency for unsupervised comprehensive general practice anywhere in Australia. The Fellowship exams are developed by GPs for GPs and are based on clinical presentations typically seen in an Australian general practice setting. They each have a unique and targeted approach to assessing knowledge and ability. There are three Fellowship exams:

The Applied Knowledge Test (AKT)

The AKT is designed to test the application of knowledge in the clinical context of Australian general practice, rather than just knowledge per se. It comprises 150 multiple-choice questions.

For more information, go to the AKT and KFP guide.

The Key Feature Problem (KFP)

The KFP is designed to assess clinical decision making and clinical reasoning in practice. It comprises 26 cases, each of which is composed of short-answer and selection-list questions.

For more information, go to the AKT and KFP guide.

The Clinical Competency Exam (CCE)

The CCE is an online real-time assessment of the candidate by multiple examiners across nine clinical cases (four case discussions and five clinical encounters).

For more information, go to the Candidate guidelines for the Clinical Competency Exam.


Completion of the Fellowship exams is one of the FRACGP eligibility requirements.

The RACGP delivers the Fellowship exams online and in locations across Australia. We work in a continuous improvement model to ensure they stay relevant to the changing context of general practice.

For more information about the Fellowship exams, go to the Assessments and Examinations Candidate Handbook.