Web site maintenance has been scheduled on 20/01/2022 from 9pm to 10pm AEDT, minor disruptions may occur.

The five domains of general practice

A comprehensive, robust framework

The five domains of general practice represent the critical areas of knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary for competent unsupervised general practice. They are relevant to every general patient consultation.

The five domains have been expanded by the addition of the Core Skills that sit beneath them. The relationship between the Domains and Core Skills is quite clear.

Domain 1

Communication skills and the patient-doctor relationship (communication skills, patient centredness, health promotion, whole person care)

Domain 2

Applied professional knowledge and skills (physical examination and procedural skills, medical conditions, decision making)

Domain 3

Population health and the context of general practice (epidemiology, public health, prevention, family influence on health, resources)

Domain 4

Professional and ethical role (duty of care, standards, self appraisal, teacher role, research, self care, networks)

Domain 5

Organisational and legal dimensions (information technology, records, reporting, confidentiality, practice management.)

Download the 2016 curriculum

Curriculum for Australian General Practice - 2016 (PDF 1.1 MB)

Previous versions

2011 Curriculum (PDF  19.2 MB)

2007 Curriculum (PDF 2.6 MB)

1997 Curriculum (PDF 6.2 MB)