The five domains of general practice represent the critical areas of knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary for competent unsupervised general practice. They are relevant to every general patient consultation.

The five domains have been expanded by the addition of the Core Skills that sit beneath them. The relationship between the Domains and Core Skills is quite clear.

Domain 1

Communication skills and the patient-doctor relationship (eg. communication skills, patient centredness, health promotion, whole person care)

Domain 2

Applied professional knowledge and skills (eg. physical examination and procedural skills, medical conditions, decision making)

Domain 3

Population health and the context of general practice (eg. epidemiology, public health, prevention, family influence on health, resources)

Domain 4

Professional and ethical role (eg. duty of care, standards, self appraisal, teacher role, research, self care, networks)

Domain 5

Organisational and legal dimensions (eg. information technology, records, reporting, confidentiality, practice management.)

The five domains of general practice provide a comprehensive, robust framework for ensuring that the key skill areas of general practice are included in education and training.

Download your copy of the
RACGP Curriculum for Australian General Practice - 2016.

Download 2016 Curriculum Download Contextual unit